LibGuides: Linden Hall Library: Wuthering Heights

Locate Books In The Library Catalog

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
High School Edition This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
LitFinder : Gale Literature This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in. For login credentials, please search your Linden Hall Email for "Library Database Logins & Information". Locate your username and password for this database. Please email Mrs. Rhoades if you require assistance.
World History This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
Gale In Context: World History reaches back to the ancient world—and forward to today's headlines—to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe.

"My name was Isabella Linton": Coverture, Domestic Violence, and Mrs. Heathcliff's Narrative in Wuthering Heights Pike, Judith E. “‘My Name was Isabella Linton’: Coverture, Domestic Violence, and Mrs. Heathcliff’s Narrative in Wuthering Heights.” Nineteenth-Century Literature, vol. 64, no. 3, University of California Press, 2009, pp. 347–83, https://doi.org/10.1525/ncl.2009.64.3.347.
"The Situation of the Looker-On": Gender, Narration, and Gaze in Wuthering Heights Newman, Beth. “‘The Situation of the Looker-On’: Gender, Narration, and Gaze in Wuthering Heights.” PMLA, vol. 105, no. 5, Modern Language Association, 1990, pp. 1029–41, https://doi.org/10.2307/462732.
The Absent Mother in Emily Brontë's "Wuthering Heights" Wion, Philip K. “The Absent Mother in Emily Brontë’s ‘Wuthering Heights.’” American Imago, vol. 42, no. 2, The Johns Hopkins University Press, 1985, pp. 143–64, http://www.jstor.org/stable/26303631.
The Lunatic and the Devil's Disciple: The 'Lovers' in Wuthering Heights Thormählen, Marianne. “The Lunatic and the Devil’s Disciple: The ‘Lovers’ in Wuthering Heights.” The Review of English Studies, vol. 48, no. 190, Oxford University Press, 1997, pp. 183–97, http://www.jstor.org/stable/518669.

Gothic Criticisms: Wuthering Heights and Nineteenth-Century Literary History RENA-DOZIER, EMILY. “GOTHIC CRITICISMS: ‘WUTHERING HEIGHTS’ AND NINETEENTH-CENTURY LITERARY HISTORY.” ELH, vol. 77, no. 3, Johns Hopkins University Press, 2010, pp. 757–75, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40963185.

Charlotte and Emily Brontë: A Study in the Rise and Fall of Literary Reputations Winnifrith, Tom. “Charlotte and Emily Brontë: A Study in the Rise and Fall of Literary Reputations.” The Yearbook of English Studies, vol. 26, Modern Humanities Research Association, 1996, pp. 14–24, https://doi.org/10.2307/3508641.
Emily Brontë's Homesickness Austin, Linda M. “Emily Brontë’s Homesickness.” Victorian Studies, vol. 44, no. 4, Indiana University Press, 2002, pp. 573–96, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3829491.
The Influence of Byron on Emily Brontë Brown, Helen. “The Influence of Byron on Emily Brontë.” The Modern Language Review, vol. 34, no. 3, Modern Humanities Research Association, 1939, pp. 374–81, https://doi.org/10.2307/3717699.
Romantic Ghosts: The Refusal of Mourning in Emily Brontë's Poetry Vine, Steve. “Romantic Ghosts: The Refusal of Mourning in Emily Brontë’s Poetry.” Victorian Poetry, vol. 37, no. 1, West Virginia University Press, 1999, pp. 99–117, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40003651.

Those Wild Yorkshire Girls: Body, Place, and History in the Brontës’ Lives and Art MORSE, DEBORAH DENENHOLZ. “Those Wild Yorkshire Girls: Body, Place, and History in the Brontës’ Lives and Art.” Victorian Review, vol. 42, no. 2, The Johns Hopkins University Press, 2016, pp. 243–50, https://www.jstor.org/stable/26809577.

JSTOR through the FLP
** chrome browser not supported **
Please see Ms Allegra in the library for help signing up for a Free Library of Philadelphia Library card!
Project Gutenberg
World Digital Library Launched in 2009, the World Digital Library (WDL) was a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world.