Academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
AgricultureThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
• Explore access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture
• Collection of more than 600 journal titles and more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics
Criminal JusticeThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
• Explore information from more than 250 journals
• Relevant for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more
Diversity StudiesThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
A must-have for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, the Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Environmental StudiesThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
From climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
Gender StudiesThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Military and IntelligenceThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
Provide military personnel with access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Updated annually, this library resource contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
U.S. HistoryThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
Reference content, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,500 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers are aligned to curriculum and provide many options for an exploration of U.S. history.
War and TerrorismThis link opens in a new windowWhen you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
This site contains the Congressional Record and all bills introduced in Congress. All databases are searchable using key words or bill numbers.
(the "Most-Viewed Bills" at the top of the page is a good place to see what is popular & currently happening)
GovTrack.us began in 2004 as a project to use technology to make the U.S. Congress more open and accessible. Today we’re the leading non-governmental source of legislative information and statistics.
My Congressional District gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities.
The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
Excellent source of information that gives recommendations about federal agencies, Congress, and important policy issues.
This is a good source to provide ideas for solutions to include in your bill!
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
The New York Times's data-driven commentary focused on politics, policy and economic analysis. Their goal is to help readers get to the essence of issues and understand them in a contextual and conversational way.
More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use.
Examine the many sides of today's hottest social issues. Explore pro/con viewpoints, articles, and infographics
Access is available through the Free Library of Philadelphia. Anyone who goes to school in Pennsylvania can sign up for a library card for free online. Use your Linden Hall address if your home is not in PA.
On this site you will find a comprehensive repository of information about animal law, including: over 1200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), over 1400 US statutes, over 60 topics and comprehensive explanations, legal articles on a variety of animal topics and an international collection.
The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) was established in 1986 as part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library (NAL) in Beltsville, Maryland. As a library service, AWIC provides information, products and services related to the improved care and use of animals in research, testing, and teaching as described in the Animal Welfare Act.
World Digital LibraryLaunched in 2009, the World Digital Library (WDL) was a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world.
Mapping Police Violence is a research collaborative collecting comprehensive data on police killings nationwide to quantify the impact of police violence in communities.
