Skip to Main Content
Remote Teaching Articles & Videos & Some Humor
Tech Tools For Possible Use With Students
Quizlet
Quizlet allows students to create and share flashcard sets and also allows for non-synchronous assessment.
You can check out their blog post for step-by-step instructions on different methods to use Quizlet for distance education.
Flipgrid
Using flipgrid, students can share and comment on short videos made by other users. You can set up classes and students could share short reading passages, make video comments on texts, or have other non-synchronous conversations in a format where they can see and hear each other.
Ed Puzzle
Choose a video, give it your magic touch and track your students' comprehension. students to self-paced learning with interactive video lessons. It's easy to add your own voice narration and questions! videos from YouTube, Khan Academy, Crash Course and more. If you'd rather record and upload your own video, go for it!Check if students are watching your videos, how many times they're watching each section, and if they're understanding the content.
Anchor
Both an app and a website, Anchor makes it easy to create high quality podcasts with their free and easy to use creation tools and hosting service. With a library of a variety of sound effects and audio clips, transitions can be included before and after audio recordings to create a professional mix of audio. Anchor makes it easy to share saved podcasts directly to social media platforms, such as Facebook and Twitter. Anchor also generates a link and an embed code for each episode. Grades: All
Go Formative
Assessment tool where students can type, draw, or submit images to demonstrate their understanding. Teachers can upload existing assignments from pdfs, Word, and Google Docs and add interactive experiences. There is also a large bank of pre-created work.
Green Screen by Do Ink
Green Screen by Do Ink makes it easy to create incredible green screen videos and photos. The green screen effect works by combining images from multiple sources into a single video. These images can come from photos or videos in your camera roll, or from the live video camera. With Green Screen by Do Ink, you can tell a story, explain an idea, and express yourself in truly creative and unique ways.
Loom
Loom is a fairly new, and free, resource that records your screen and camera. It’s especially useful for creating short videos, introducing a topic, or providing instructions, clarifications, or tutorials.
Nearpod
Nearpod is an app that helps you create interactive lessons in a 1:1 setting. Save prep time by easily importing existing lessons (pdfs, jpegs, ppts) and adding interactive features such as Virtual Field Trips, 3D Objects, Quizzes, Polls, Open Ended Questions, etc. Customize every lesson to meet the needs of your students.
Platform: iOS & Android Grades: All
Now Comment
NowComment makes it easy to have rich, engaging discussions in both large and small groups. This online discussion platform allows students to converse about documents, videos, and images in a way that supports students’ enjoyment of social media. The ability to handle multiple, simultaneous conversations ensures that students can comment on what they find interesting, without disrupting the flow of other conversation threads. This resource can be used in a variety of ways to spark thought exchange and in-depth learning. Grades: 5 & Up
Padlet
Padlet provides a way for students to create virtual bulletin boards and documents. These can be done collaboratively or individually and provide a good way for students to present information in a digital space.
Screencastify For Use With Chrome Web Browser
Free, easy-to-use Google Chrome extension that allows you to screencast (record video of your computer desktop along with a thumbnail video of you in the corner)
Wakelet
Wakelet is a one stop shop for curating resources for your school library. As an app on your mobile device you can send links directly into a Wakelet collection for personal or public use. You can create a collection of resources together with teaching teams for students to use for reference on projects. Collections can be made up of websites, links, notes, tweets, pictures from your device and more.
Platform: iOS & Android Grades: All
Zoom
Zoom provides video conferencing and webinar creation services. You can stream a live video conference or create a video to share with one or multiple classes.
While Zoom allows for live streaming, Loom only allows for creating and sharing recordings.
Zoom videos are saved to your computer (or to your Zoom account if you have one). Loom videos are saved to the cloud and you get a link to post for others to access them.
Tech Tools & Websites For Teaching Art
Mixerpiece
Mixerpiece is a sort of digital magnetic board, with more than 200 items and shapes which you can use and combine to create new works of art while learning art history. Have students demonstrate their understandings of the art elements – line, shape, color, form – using original masterpieces. Students can learn to identify similarities or differences in pieces of artwork by putting them together into something new. The possibilities are limited only by your imagination.
Platform: iOS Grades: All
NCMA Learn
NCMALearn brought to you by the North Carolina Museum of Art is designed for educators, students, and anyone interested in learning through works of art. Explore resources for exhibitions and the collection. Teachers and students can explore works of art along with videos that discuss specific works. Teachers can also find lesson plans that include activities, assessments, and resources. Grades: All
Tech Tools & Websites for Teaching Dance
Tech Tools & Websites for Teaching Music
Tech Tools & Website For Teaching Computer Science
Bootstrap
Boostrapworld.org consists of curricular modules that integrate computational thinking in algebra, physics and coding. This resource enables non-computer science teachers to deliver computer science instruction within math, science, and even stand-alone computer science courses. Backed by research and inspired by courses taught at reputable universities, the content aligns with state and national math standards. Leveraging creativity, such as video game design to integrate mathematical concepts in coding, students are inspired to advance to the next level of computational thinking building a solid foundation within the framework of computer science. Bootstrap World offers virtual office hours as an added tool for teacher support. Grades 6 -12
Tech Tools & Websites For Teaching English
Perusall
Free online social annotation tool for readings.
Tech Tools & Websites For Teaching ESL
Novel Effect
Novel Effect uses voice recognition to compliment read alouds with sound effects and music. Novel Effect features a catalog of over 200 popular and well-loved titles for children, with new titles regularly being added. Parents, teachers, and librarians can use it to spice up their read alouds or revisit old favorites by adding a new soundscape. Students can practice their reading fluency as the app responds to their voice.
Platform: iOS Grades: All
Tech Tools & Websites For Teaching History
iCivics
iCivics is a suite of apps ranging from “Win the White House” and “Your Bill of Rights” to “Immigration Nation” and “Executive Command”. There is a total 11 apps in the iCivics Suite. “Win the White House” will help students to explain the electoral process, identify the influence of the media in forming public opinion, and analyze how parts of a whole interact to produce outcome in complex systems.
Platform: iOS & Android Grades: 6-12
Tech Tools & Websites For Global Issues
Pulitzer Center
The Pulitzer Center for Crisis Reporting promotes in depth engagement with critical global issues by sponsoring quality international journalists and newsrooms. Stories by Pulitzer Center grantees are freely available on their website and span thousands of print, video, photo, and digital stories published in 150 media outlets; including The New York Times , PBS NewsHour, The New Yorker, NPR, Time Magazine, and National Geographic. Stories as well as accompanying lesson plans, are searchable by issue, date, author, region and grade level. In addition, the Pulitzer Center offers in person and Skype journalist visits to classrooms, workshops and professional development opportunities. Grades: Upper Elementary & Up
Knight Lab Storytelling
Although designed with journalists in mind, this suite of online tools will prove useful to high school students looking to infuse a degree of professionalism into projects. Features such as Juxtapose, Scene, Soundcite, Storyline, and StoryMap leverage online content in a way that will enhance online storytelling and journalistic efforts. Step-by-step tutorials will assist students and educators in making the most of this robust collection of resources. Grades: 9-12
Tech Tools & Websites for Teaching Math
Desmos
Load problems from your lesson in multiple choice or open-ended questions, or sort or draw-on problems. Create in the custom setting, and share the link.
Tech Tools & Websites For Teaching Science
Alchem.ie (Chemistry App)
Students can explore and manipulate the components of chemical reactions.
App is free during COVID-19 closures.
EarthViewer
EarthViewer allows students to visualize changes to Earth’s surface over its four billion year history. Students can interact with a moveable globe, similar to Google Earth, and animate four time scales – modern, ice age, paleo, and ancient Earth. Overlays can be added to show the locations of current borders and cities, important fossil finds, and impact craters. Animated charts comparing temperature, oxygen, carbon dioxide, day length, luminosity, and biodiversity allow students to investigate relationships between these variables over geologic time. EarthViewer also features in depth articles and videos as well as a detailed list of external references and a teacher quick guide are also included.
Platform: iOS & Android Grades: 6-12
iCell
Students can choose between animal, bacteria, or plant cell from the main screen. Explanatory text has three options: basic, intermediate, or advanced. Students can zoom in or out and can rotate cells for a 360-degree view of the cell. Basic text typically gives one or two short sentence descriptions of structures, intermediate gives longer descriptions with additional vocabulary, and advanced gives very detailed descriptions with challenging vocabulary.
Platform: iOS, Android, Windows Grades: 5-12
Tech Tools & Websites For World Languages
Mango Languages
Resources for teaching and learning modern foreign languages.
