LibGuides: Linden Hall Library: Women’s Voices in the 20th Century

Locate Books In The Library Catalog

Check These Out!

33 Things Every Girl Should Know about Women's History
Call Number: 305.4 Bol
Extraordinary American Writers
Call Number: 810.9 Tes
Gibson Girls and Suffragists
Call Number: 324.6 Gou
Inventing the American Woman
Call Number: 305.4 RIL
Perrine's Sound and Sense
Call Number: 808.1 Arp
Rosie and Mrs. America
Call Number: 305.40973 Gou
Through Women's Eyes
Call Number: 973.008 DuB
Women in Literature Available from the ProQuest database!

Databases!

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, you will need your POWER Library eCard Number to access this database.
High School Edition This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
LitFinder : Gale Literature This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
U.S. History This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in with your Power Library eCard number OR Pennsylvania Public Library Card number.
Reference content, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,500 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers are aligned to curriculum and provide many options for an exploration of U.S. history.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window When you are off campus, this database requires you to log in. For login credentials, please search your Linden Hall Email for "Library Database Logins & Information". Locate your username and password for this database. Please email Mrs. Rhoades if you require assistance.

20th Century Women in Art

Woman Rising / Sea
Mary Beth Edelson, 1973

20th Century In Context

Primary Sources

Click Here To Look At The Primary Sources Research Guide

20th Century Women in Literature

Academy of American Poets
American Women's Dime Novel Project
Discovering Literature: 20th century
Library of Congress Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature The Library of Congress Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature began in 1943, and consists of nearly 2,000 recordings of readings, interviews, and lectures from famous poets and prose writers. The majority of these recordings are available only at the library, however a number have been digitized and are available online.
Poetry Foundation
Poetry Society of America
Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America A part of the Radcliffe Institute at Harvard University, the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America is a repository of primary and secondary sources related to women's history in the United States. In addition to the papers of women like Susan B. Anthony and Betty Friedan, the library's manuscripts collections include the personal papers of influential contemporary American poets June Jordan, Adrienne Rich, and Jean Valentine. They also offer a research guide for all of their poetry collections.

Sylvia Plath

Citation Station

Research Books & Databases

JSTOR through the FLP
** chrome browser not supported **
Please see Ms Allegra in the library for help signing up for a Free Library of Philadelphia Library card!
Project Gutenberg
World Digital Library Launched in 2009, the World Digital Library (WDL) was a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world.