LibGuides: Linden Hall Library: Genetic Engineering

Locate Books In The Library Catalog

Genetic Engineering

Try these keywords when searching for information about your topic:

Animal biotechnology
Bioengineered meat
Animals -- Genetic engineering
[Specific Animal] -- Genetic engineering
Genetically engineered organisms
Genetically modified animals -- Law and legislation
Genetic engineering - Moral and ethical aspects
GM animals
Transgenic animals

Genetic Engineering: Animals

Genetic Modification of Animals: Scientific and Ethical Issues Bailey, Jarrod. “Genetic Modification of Animals: Scientific and Ethical Issues.” Animal Experimentation: Working Towards a Paradigm Change, edited by Kathrin Herrmann and Kimberley Jayne, vol. 22, Brill, 2019, pp. 443–79, http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.1163/j.ctvjhzq0f.26.
Impacts of genetically modified animals on the ecosystem and human activities Louis-Marie Houdebine (2014) Impacts of genetically modified animals on the ecosystem and human activities, Global Bioethics, 25:1, 3-18, DOI: 10.1080/11287462.2014.894709
Meet Your Meat: The Argument for Increasing Education and Public Outreach Regarding the Regulation and Safety of Animal Biotechnology Ball, Kaitlin M. “Meet Your Meat: The Argument for Increasing Education and Public Outreach Regarding the Regulation and Safety of Animal Biotechnology.” Food and Drug Law Journal, vol. 68, no. 3, Food and Drug Law Institute (FDLI), 2013, pp. 281–308, https://www.jstor.org/stable/26660997.
Transgenic Animals, Biomedical Experiments, and "Progress" Peggs, Kay. “Transgenic Animals, Biomedical Experiments, and ‘Progress.’” Journal of Animal Ethics, vol. 3, no. 1, [University of Illinois Press, Ferrater Mora Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics], 2013, pp. 41–56, https://doi.org/10.5406/janimalethics.3.1.0041.

Databases!

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
From climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Science This link opens in a new window
With the Gale OneFile: Science, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window

Try these keywords when searching for information about your topic:

Genetically modified foods
[GMOs]
Genetic engineering in agriculture
Plant genetic engineering
Agricultural biotechnology
Genetically modified food -- law and legislation
Plant biotechnology
Transgenic plants
Transgenic organisms
[Specific Crop] --genetic engineering

Genetic Engineering: Food

European and American Views on Genetically Modified Foods Ujj, Orsolya. “European and American Views on Genetically Modified Foods.” The New Atlantis, no. 49, Center for the Study of Technology and Society, 2016, pp. 77–92, http://www.jstor.org/stable/43893406.
GMOs: A Solution or a Problem Journal of International Affairs Lynas, Mark, and Colin Tudge. “GMOS: A SOLUTION OR A PROBLEM?” Journal of International Affairs, vol. 67, no. 2, Journal of International Affairs Editorial Board, 2014, pp. 131–39, http://www.jstor.org/stable/24461739.
Investigation of Human Health Effects Associated with Potential Exposure to Genetically Modified Corn A Report to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (PDF) June 11, 2001. CDC.
“You Say Tomato, I Say Solanum Lycopersicum Containing Beta-ionone and Phenylacetaldehyde” Nunziato, Travis. “‘You Say Tomato, I Say Solanum Lycopersicum Containing Beta-Ionone and Phenylacetaldehyde’: An Analysis of Connecticut’s GMO Labeling Legislation.” Food and Drug Law Journal, vol. 69, no. 3, Food and Drug Law Institute (FDLI), 2014, pp. 474–91, https://www.jstor.org/stable/26661028.

Database So Useful It Gets Its Own Box

Examine the many sides of today's hottest social issues. Explore pro/con viewpoints, articles, and infographics

Access is available through the Free Library of Philadelphia. Anyone who goes to school in Pennsylvania can sign up for a library card for free online. Use your Linden Hall address if your home is not in PA. Please see Ms. Allegra for questions! 📚

Try these keywords when searching for information about your topic:

Genetically modified viruses
Genetic Engineering in medicine
Transgenic disease
CRISPR
CRISPR + [specific disease]
[Specific disease] + genetic engineering
CRISPR gene editing
Gene editing -- moral and ethical aspects
Gene editing + health
Gene editing + disease prevention

Genetic Engineering: Disease

CRISPR Democracy: Gene Editing and the Need for Inclusive Deliberation JASANOFF, SHEILA, et al. “CRISPR Democracy: Gene Editing and the Need for Inclusive Deliberation.” Issues in Science and Technology, vol. 32, no. 1, University of Texas at Dallas, 2015, pp. 25–32, http://www.jstor.org/stable/24727002.
Gene Editing: New Technology, Old Moral Questions Foht, Brendan P. “Gene Editing: New Technology, Old Moral Questions.” The New Atlantis, no. 48, Center for the Study of Technology and Society, 2016, pp. 3–15, http://www.jstor.org/stable/43766980.

Citation Station

Research Books & Databases

JSTOR through the FLP
** chrome browser not supported **
Please see Ms Allegra in the library for help signing up for a Free Library of Philadelphia Library card!
Project Gutenberg
World Digital Library Launched in 2009, the World Digital Library (WDL) was a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world.